2 comments on “Giants Sign The Big Unit

  1. First, a question. Why didn’t the Diamondbacks re-sign Johnson for another year? As you point out, he pitched well for them. Was it a money issue?

    And I hear your frustration with Francesa. Loud and clear. At least when Mad Dog was on the show, he’d have someone to argue with him.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. I get the impression they didn’t want to pay him. If you want inside dirt and some pretty good comedy re: the Diamondbacks, here’s the place to go:
    http://diamondhacks.blogspot.com/
    As for Francesa, I have great respect for people who say, “This is what I believe; this is why I believe it; and if you don’t like the things I say, then don’t listen”. That’s pretty much what I do; but to sit there as some self-proclaimed expert and try to whitewash glaring mistakes by ignoring them as if they never happened, and then compounding that by doing a complete 180 on the original opinion hoping no one will notice is just embarrassing more than enraging. If he were to sit up and say, “I thought the Zito thing would work, but the guy’s done,” he’d have some credibility, but instead he just rips the signing as if it were a stupid idea from the outset. No one could’ve known he’d fall this far, this fast. Contrary to the 20/20 hindsight that’s everywhere with Zito, he DID pitch well in 2006, his last year with the A’s and he’s still young enough to rejuvenate his career. Then what will Francesa say if there’s an offense and good bullpen behind Zito and he goes 15-10 next year? Will it still be a “horrible” contract? Or will he do another spin? My money’s on another spin.

Leave a comment